Battambang Branch Office

Battambang (also Batdambang) is a province of Cambodia. It is in the northwest of the country, and its capital is Battambang. The name literally means loss of stick referring to a legend of Preah Bat Dambang Kranhoung (Kranhoung Stick King).

The stone inscriptions discovered from the pre-Angkor and Angkor eras have as yet mentioned no villages or districts at that time that were called ‘Battambang’ but according to the document ‘Mohachun Khmer’, ‘Srok Battambang’, literally meaning Battambang district, was used during the Angkor and post-Angkor eras.

Today, the province of Battambang has 13 districts, 96 communes, and 741 villages.

  • Banan district
  • Thmor Koul district
  • Battambang district
  • Bavel district
  • Ek Phnom district
  • Morng Russey district
  • Ratanak Mundol district
  • Sangkae district
  • Samlout district
  • Sampov Loun district
  • Phnom Proek district
  • Kamrieng district
  • Koars Kralor district

LAC’s office in Battambang is opened since 1995 and has played its important roles in providing Legal Services to poor for both criminal and civil cases free of charge. The Battambang office also covers legal matters in the adjoining provinces of Banteay Meanchey and Pursat. A lawyer as the head of Battambang provincial office, an investigator and a receptionist are working permanently in providing Legal Services to the poor free of charge.